gradient

Next Events

System Design Interview - Chapter 5: Design Consistent Hashing

Wednesday, June 26, 2024
To achieve horizontal scaling, it is important to distribute requests/data efficiently and evenly across servers. Consistent hashing is a commonly used technique to achieve this goal. 

Join us to discuss how to design this system from scratch. 

🎙️ LightningTalk: My experience with Jet Brains Academy as a learning platform for developers

Friday, June 21, 2024

🎙️ LightningTalk: My experience with Jet Brains Academy as a learning platform for developers

Friday, June 21, 2024

🎙️ LightningTalk: A Reflection on 11 Books from the 2024 1st Semester

Thursday, June 20, 2024
Come join us for our first-ever Lightning Talk in the Engineering Book Club. In this session, I will share my learnings and motivations from the eleven books that I have read this year. 

Grokking Concurrency - Part III

Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Past Events

Grokking Concurrency - Part III

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Grokking Concurrency - Part III

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Grokking Concurrency - Part II

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

System Design Interview - Chapter 4: Design a rate limiter

Wednesday, May 15, 2024
In this meetup, we will cover Chapter 4 from the System Design Interviews and discuss the RateLimitter exercise. This is a really popular exercise in big companies, so it's a good starting point for warming up for what's coming next.

Coffee Chat

Tuesday, May 14, 2024
Hey there! Join us for an informal coffee chat. 

Grokking Concurrency - Part I

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

System Design Interview - Initial catch-up

Thursday, May 2, 2024
We will cover the first three chapters and discuss what we expect from this book.

Grokking Concurrency - Initial catch-up

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Fireside Chat with Roberto Vitillo

Thursday, April 18, 2024
As a final event for Understanding Distributed System, we will host a fireside chat with Roberto Vitillo. We will discuss the motivations for writing the book and the process, but we will also have time for questions and final thoughts. 

Escaping the Build Trap - Parts III & IV

Monday, April 15, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Maintainability

Thursday, April 4, 2024

Escaping the Build Trap - Parts I and II

Monday, March 25, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Resiliency

Thursday, March 21, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Scalability

Thursday, March 7, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 18-23

Thursday, February 22, 2024

The New Turing Omnibus - Chapters 21-30

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 14-18

Thursday, February 8, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 14-18

Thursday, February 8, 2024

The New Turing Omnibus - Chapters 11-21

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

The New Turing Omnibus - Chapters 11-21

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 8-13

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 8-13

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

The New Turing Omnibus - Until chapter 10

Wednesday, January 17, 2024

The New Turing Omnibus - Until chapter 10

Wednesday, January 17, 2024

Coffee Chat - Happy 2024

Wednesday, January 10, 2024
Hey folks! Happy New Year! 

We are back after the Christmas break! Let's join together in a coffee chat to talk about books, new year challenges and goals, and much more... 

This is going to be an open event, so I will send it to our newsletter subscribers as well. 

Coffee Chat - Happy 2024

Wednesday, January 10, 2024
Hey folks! Happy New Year! 

We are back after the Christmas break! Let's join together in a coffee chat to talk about books, new year challenges and goals, and much more... 

This is going to be an open event, so I will send it to our newsletter subscribers as well. 

Coffee Chat

Wednesday, December 20, 2023

Coffee Chat

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Database Internals - End of the book

Thursday, December 14, 2023

Understanding Distributed Systems - Until Chapter 8

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

The New Turing Omnibus - Chapter 6

Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Understanding Distributed Systems - Until Chapter 7

Wednesday, November 29, 2023

The New Turing Omnibus - Until Chapter 5

Wednesday, November 22, 2023

Understanding Distributed Systems - Chapters 1, 2 & 3

Wednesday, November 15, 2023
This is the first catch-up organized for this book. We will discuss the first three chapters.

Database Internals - Chapter 12

Wednesday, November 8, 2023

The New Turing Omnibus

Thursday, November 2, 2023

Database Internals - Chapter 10 & 11

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

Coffee Chat

Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Database Internals - Chapter 9

Wednesday, October 11, 2023
In this chapter, we will discuss Failure detection, a crucial part of any distributed system. 

Engineering Management for the Rest of Us - Until the end of the book

Wednesday, October 4, 2023

John Ousterhout Coffee Chat

Wednesday, September 27, 2023
John is the author of the book and a professor of Computer Science at Stanford University.

It will be an informal chat to discuss about the book, so feel free to have prepared some questions or feedback. 

Database Internals - Until Chapter 8

Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Engineering Management for the Rest of Us - Until Chapter 15

Wednesday, September 13, 2023
Let's read until Chapter 15, so we finish "Part 2" of the book that talks about collaboration. 

Database Internals - Chapter 8

Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Engineering Management for the Rest of Us - Until Chapter 11

Wednesday, August 30, 2023

Database Internals - First Part

Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Engineering Management for the Rest of Us - Chapter 6, 7 & 8

Wednesday, August 16, 2023

Database Internals - Chapter 6 & 7

Wednesday, August 9, 2023

"Engineering Management for the Rest of Us" - Chapter 4 & 5

Wednesday, August 2, 2023

"Engineering Management for the Rest of Us" - Until Chapter 5

Tuesday, August 1, 2023

"Database Internals" - Chapter 5

Wednesday, July 26, 2023

"Database Internals" - Until Chapter 5 (LATAM)

Tuesday, July 25, 2023
Let's catch up and discuss until chapter 5 (included). 

This is the first catch-up that we set up in this time frame. So the idea is to cover until Chapter 5. Feel free to join even if you have not read all the chapters. 


"Engineering Management for the Rest of Us" - Chapter 3: Trust

Wednesday, July 19, 2023

"Database Internals" - Until chapter 4

Wednesday, July 12, 2023

"Database Internals" - Catch Up

Wednesday, June 28, 2023
This is the first catch-up for the "Database Internals" book. Let's discuss the motivation for reading this book and what we expect. 

I suggest reading the introduction and first chapter at least but feel free to join even if you didn't manage to do it.